Interpretation

November 3, 2010 — Leave a comment

I have found in life that many things boil down to interpretation.  Frustrating right?  How many times have you sent a text message or email to someone trying to inform someone of a thought or feeling perhaps only for it to be misinterpreted. Misinterpretation, otherwise known as miscommunication, can lead to some very sticky circumstances.

How an individual interprets a situation allows them to form thought and reason generally followed by a set emotion.  A person’s own interpretation is right no matter how it was implied to be.  This is what makes us who we are, failures or successors. A wrong interpretation isn’t wrong……it’s an interpretation.  When communicating it is important to leave very little to no room for interpretation.

When my wife asks me what I want for supper and I reply with “It doesn’t matter baby, whatever you want.” I will then get a dish of whatever she wanted to make.  This will lead to an unhappy belly! I should have instead replied to her question with, “I think I would like some pork chops covered with gravy, mashed potatoes, and a big glass of southern style sweet tea.” When I obtain this man-sized feast on a plate I will be happy because my wife did not have to interpret what she thought I might like.

Recent advances to wipeout interpretation mishaps have been noticed in apps such as heytell. Heytell allows someone to speak into their phone and send it to another user like walkie talkie.  This wipes out interpretation almost entirely (minus physical gestures: hand signals and facial keys) unlike text messaging.

Looking back of this post I realize this was completely random but it remains important. Misinterpretation allots for severed relationships worldwide. I Corinthians chapter 3 talks about not making judgement or decisions without all of the facts and that is exactly what interpreting doesn’t do.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

