Hurry Up and Wait!

July 9, 2011 — Leave a comment

Numbers 9:15-23

You know how sometimes you can’t help but know God is trying to tell you something? That is where I am at now. I am stuck in the waiting period in several aspects of my life. But recently I feel God is trying to tell me to be patient and wait on his timing as hard as that is for me. In several blog posts that I have read lately or in my devotion yesterday God seems to be just saying…WAIT!

In Numbers 9:15 we are told of the Cloud over the tabernacle. The Israelites, on their seemingly neverending journey to the land God had promised them, have been left at the mercy of a cloud over the Tabernacle to tell them when to move. Verse 22 really sums up the patience that had to be displayed by the Israelites…”22 Whether the cloud stayed over the tabernacle for two days or a month or a year, the Israelites would remain in camp and not set out; but when it lifted, they would set out”

God was leading them through the wilderness, but not always at the pace they had hoped for. Still, God expected them to obey, no matter the wait! I know this is difficult for me. I find the answers to my prayers and concerns to be of the utmost importance but it feels like God is in no hurry. But, I am finding, as difficult as it is for me to wait, that the patience, trust, and obedience that are being cultivated in my life are virtues that will be used in other areas of my life down the road.

Let God use this “waiting” period to work on you. He is preparing you for what you have been unpatiently waiting for and the cloud will appear over your tabernacle and you can finally “set out”.

Just Keep Livin’…

Derek

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

