Friends, Family, and Sleaze Balls

July 10, 2011 — Leave a comment

While on a family road trip the other day I started thinking about all the people who have come and gone in my life. Im gonna be open, transparent, and brutally honest. Some that have come have been the best thing I could ever imagine……for instance, my incredibly hot, down to earth, on fire for Christ, superhero mother of a wife, Cori. I can honestly say that Proverbs 18:22 must have been written for me (“find a good spouse, you find a good life-and even more: the favor of God”). She is my rock that keeps us together and I wish that we had met earlier.

On the other hand there have been people, a descent number of people, that could have gone as quickly as they came. You know, those people that you say in the back of your mind, “Adios, don’t let the door hit you on the way out!” Those kind of people that some odd way leave you desperately wanting to put your arm in a meat grinder rather than spend two minutes with.  The kind of people that make you cross off the bread from your grocery list because you seen them on isle five and you make the decision on the fly that you really wanted wraps for lunch instead of deli sandwiches. Do you know the kind of people I am talking about?

I have recently took the stand that even THESE people have a special place in my life. Proverbs 18:23 says, “Friends come and go, but a true friend sticks by you like family.” THESE people, the deli sandwich to a wrap people, exist in my life to remind me of how incredibly blessed I am with true friends. True friends that don’t judge but help fix. True friends that will listen to me whine and then speak the truth. True friends that put my feelings before their own. True friends that believe in the direction of my life.

Sometimes you have to experience something a little salty to appreciate the sweet things in your life. I used to think that my families boundaries were firm and the only time someone came in or left was either through a wedding or funeral. But now I know that I am blessed with an inordinate amount of incredible friends that are truly my family!

~Aaron

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

