The Same but Different

July 13, 2011 — Leave a comment

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; (Ephesians 4:22 NIV)

I have always been a little different…can’t help it, I like to peacock it out once in a while. But for a period in my life I tried really hard not to be different. I wanted the opposite. I wanted to just fit in with whatever group of people I happened to be with at the time. It happened when I was at work, with my friends, or at the gym. I had become a chameleon of sorts, changing my colors so I could blend in with whatever environment I happened to find myself in.
But I have realized now that I was searching for something. I was needing to be accepted. I was accepted, but for the wrong reasons. They were accepting whatever facade I was putting on, not Me.
Now back to being different. It is OKAY! I am realizing that now. I am the same person but different. II am noticing that it is hard for people to grasp this. They think it is weird that I don’t act the same way I used to, or speak the way I used to, or do the things that I used to do. People have a hard time accepting things that are different. I may lose people in my life because I am different, but that is okay because people pleasing is not what I was created for.
If you have been changed, live it out loud, because if you stay the same as you were before, people will never see Him…and that Is the reason we are called to be different.

Just Keep Livin’

Derek

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

