God: the Pulling Guard

July 15, 2011 — Leave a comment

In the book of Acts, at the time of Pentecost, Peter stood up and was answering the questioned people regarding what had just taken place. He proceeded to talk about David. And in Acts 2:25 we find a a quote from him; “‘I saw the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

I’m not sure if this scripture popped out at me because I have been praying that the NFL lockout would come to a positive conclusion or because I have been relishing in the fact that the Oregon Ducks will be rolling over the Tide for the NCAA championship this season (fact)! Whatever it was got me thinking about what David had said.

Immediately my sports enthused mind started putting this scripture into what it would look like if applied to the world of sports (men just learn better that way). If you know much about football you know the key to a good running game resides in the guards. Next time you watch football keep an eye on the guards during a running play. In almost all running plays the guards have the responsibility to pull. This means they want to hit the hole before the back does so they can protect and enable to back to go as far as they can. David says that he sees the lord always before him as his right hand. We need to understand that Christ is running before us protecting us from things that are coming to stop us, hit us, or drag us down. Much like the guard that pulls, Christ can see things that we can’t but it is our job and our best interest to stay behind him. When we follow this principal we will surely be more successful in life. God has our blindside it’s time to trust that he is leading us in the right direction.

~Aaron

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a comment