Hurts so good!

July 25, 2011 — Leave a comment

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4 NIV)

You mean I am supposed to be happy when I face trials? Well, according to the bible…yes. But if you are like me, you find it hard to whistle and skip when you go through trials.

Why should we find joy in our times of trouble? Because this is how our Faith grows. If we never went through heartache or struggles then there would be no reason for Faith. We would never have to rely on him if everything would go just as we planned.

I have come to realize that I would not be where I am if I had not endured the last three or four years. I really wish I did not have to endure all that I did, and I don’t even think I am done to be honest with you, but I don’t think I would trade these experiences for anything. That sounds odd, I know! But without the pain and disappointment, I would have continued to live a lukewarm and mediocre existence. I heard someone say once that God has to bruise you before he can use you. I don’t believe that God beats us down so he can get what he wants out of us, but I do believe we have to be humbled and shown that we are not in control no matter how much we think we are.

So, when you feel beaten down and like nothing is going according to plan, know that God has a plan and a purpose and he is going to use your trials and struggles for a much bigger purpose than you could ever comprehend. He is going to use these situations to strengthen and mature you and your faith.

Just Keep Livin’

Derek

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

