Time to get outta your MIND!

February 20, 2012 — Leave a comment

Psalm 94:19 In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul.

I haven’t blogged in a while but when I came across this scripture today I felt the urge to put the keys to the wordpress and “Do Work Son!” When I first read this verse I was like what the heck is David talking about! So I started digging a little deeper, reading several different translations, studying context, and then it all started to come together. In Psalm 94 David is basically pleading with God to bring the hammer down on his advisaries (Vs 13 “til a pit is dug for the wicked.”). David wants these people killed dead! That’s the degree of dead you can go when you are KILLED DEAD! So apparently David and his people where going through some things. You could say they were having a ruff time and no one would stand up against these people who were coming against them. 

During the first part of Psalm 94 David is giving God the 3rd degree which requires some sort of boldness in itself. And then when vs. 19 was written David had this mind melting epiphany. He writes, “In the multitude of my thoughts within me they comforts delight my soul.” BAM! David’s mind just went from drilling God like an attorney/pleading that God would send down armies of Rambos to annihilate these opposing forces to understanding that the biggest battle he had was happening in HIS OWN MIND! The NIV translates it like this, “When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.” 

At that moment David realized that no matter what was happening in his life and no matter how tuff things were going to get, God’s console and comforts brought joy and delight to his soul! WOW, no wonder David is quoted as being “the man after God’s own heart.” He had the insight to take himself out of the battleground that was happening inside of his mind and place his trust back on his trust and hope in GOD! What would your life look like if you could do what David did?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

